Upgrade or not the 24-70 f/2.8, a thousand dollar question.

Hello. I have had the old 24-70 f/2.8 for eight years now. It has been repaired three times. Once for no obvious reason but finally I figured I must have bumped it without noticing. It focuses OK, I have no problems with the picture quality but then again I do not see very well with my multifocals.

I have read the articles which show that there are lots of problems with the old version, how the lens elements get off-center at the slightest bump and how it is a very uneven performer in the lab tests.

And how good the new version is. It just does everything so much better. How it is the best ever medium zoom. How it is optically and technically superior to anything else on the market at the moment.

About 60% of my pictures are taken with the 24-70. I do not especially LOVE it but it gets the job done.
I got filters and even a Cokin frame that fits the 76-mm ring.

I am not a professional but I make a nice living doing the job I do.
I am sure there are lots of people who upgraded the same day as the v.2.0 became available.

What might be your opinion, would I be able to leave home without or eventually sell the 24mm L, the 35mm L and the precious Glass Pomelo 85mm L if I got this beauty in my bag?

Please tell me no.

Nov 17, 2011
I had 3 copies of v1, never happy with any of them. I placed pre-order on v2, couldn't be happier.

Compared it to primes, yes, it's quite close in term of IQ. However, f2.8 feel a bit slow sometimes. Primes are primes, they have their own unique - shallow DOF & Bokeh. I don't think we should compare primes Vs zooms.

To your question, I think v2 is well worth it to upgrade. Here is v2 with Gary Fong lightsphere as fill.
_61A0917.jpg

Upvote 0

SPL

Jan 28, 2012
Hi martti,