What's the consensus on R6 upgrade to Mark II?

drmikeinpdx

Celebrating 20 years of model photography!
I've been using an R6 pretty heavily for more than two years and I'm starting to think about getting a backup body. I have an R10 to use in an emergency, but I want a second body that is similar to my main camera. Should I just get another R6 Mark I or pay a bit more for a Mark II. I'm just shooting stills... lots and lots of stills. I'm happy with the 20 Megapixel sensor.

I understand the autofocus is unchanged, which is fine. Is there any difference in dynamic range or some other aspect of image quality? Any new features that you love?

Thanks for sharing!

Dr. Mike

Jethro

EOS R
CR Pro
Jul 14, 2018
Brian, from The Digital Picture, has an excellent detailed review of the R6 II:

Canon-EOS-R6-Mark-II.aspx

He does a specific comparison with the R6, and finds lots of advantages, especially in the the AF, which gets the software algorithms from the R3, while lacking that camera's BSI sensor. So, I think the AF is clearly superior to the R6. He comes down heavily overall on the side of the R6 II, even with the price discount at the moment for the R6.

But, frankly, if you really like your current R6, why not save some $s and get a 2nd body you can set up identically to your other one?

Edit: or have you thought about the R8, which is really a smaller, lighter, cut-down version of the R6 II, but with the same sensor, and pretty much identical AF? At a lot less $s.

Reactions: 1 user
Upvote 0

shadowsports

R5 C - RF Trinity
CR Pro
Jan 15, 2023
Bay Area, CA
@drmikeinpdx,