IBIS is coming to select next generation Canon DSLRs [CR2]

Who is taking an Oly or Pentax to Antarctica?

I'm not saying it's an equivalent to something like a 1DX, but a huge portion of the people buying them (the high end Olympus stuff at least, I don't think anyone is buying Pentax these days) are old guys taking the cameras on trips just like that. I switched over from a 5D3/1DX because I started shooting more high alpine sports and less low light stuff and the high end weather sealed crop gear really shines in those environments.

Reactions: 1 users
Upvote 0

Aussie shooter

https://brettguyphotography.picfair.com/
Dec 6, 2016
brettguyphotography.picfair.com
Who is taking an Oly or Pentax to Antarctica?
I took a 700d to Antarctica. Never missed a beat. Having said that however it was only for 2 weeks and we had very good weather. I have doubts it would last long periods in harsh conditions.

Upvote 0

Ozarker

Love, joy, and peace to all of good will.
CR Pro
Jan 28, 2015
The Ozarks
The sensor could be parked in a better position for heat transfer when IBIS is off. Just speculating, but that is what I would try to do in the design.
You guys sound like the sensor is really floating around in there. It isn't. Very minute movements.

Reactions: 1 users
Upvote 0

YuengLinger

Print the ones you love.
CR Pro
Dec 20, 2012
USA
The world is full of mundane and silly things and maybe my comment was one of them, but that "Canon..ed" was my first time ever (If I remember correctly). But, I am curious to know what satisfaction it gives you to shout at silly things! You can....ignore them?
I did ignore them the first 50 times! :p

Upvote 0
Oct 22, 2014
The sensor could be parked in a better position for heat transfer when IBIS is off. Just speculating, but that is what I would try to do in the design.
How much motion do you think this sensor is going to move. We're talking about a few pixels either way off center of shifting. Won't likely be much shifting.