Canon EOS R3 to have a 30mp sensor? [CR1]

I think it's funny how people get hung up on MP. More MP does not make a camera superior. It's nice in some situations to have super-high resolution but as a demanding Wildlife photographer I have to say that sometimes 45 is too much. Pixel density can become a problem with fast moving subjects. If I'm in Alaska shooting a fishing bear or a perched Eagle then yes, 45mp is great. If I'm trying to shoot something that moves fast I have to bump my shutter speeds (and ISO) way higher than I ever did on my 1 Series cameras to get a sharp photo.

I'm excited for the R3 at 30(some) megapixels. I won't have to fight with pixel density and the LP-19 battery is going to drive my 600f4 II faster getting me better target acquisition. This has always been a problem with LP-6 based cameras from the 7D on. Battery life will also be better than a gripped R5 from my experience with those batteries. So for $6000 you're going to be getting much better tech that is designed for fast action. Maybe less resolution, but with better tracking and acquisition, probably better EVF, faster readout speeds, a truly sealed body, etc.. . Remember that the 1DX only had 18mp (and the 1DX II/III only 20) and cost more than this camera and you certainly didn't see it replaced on sidelines with 5DIVs. As far as the A1, from what I'm reading you can get 30fps at 51mp, but only in very limited conditions.

I'll be keeping my gripped R5 for slow stuff, but the R3 will likely become my action camera.