1DX vs D4 sample

Status
Not open for further replies.

JR

Sep 22, 2011
Canada
Finally received my 1DX today and after the battery was charged, my mom was nice enought to serve as my model today since my dauthers and wife are out for the week. I did those very quickly for my own use and tried to keep lighting fairly the same but you will see some variation of course. Please keep in mind those are actually the first shot coming out of my 1DX. Very impressive so far I must say.

The sample shown are 100% crop and were shot with a 50mm lens in all cases. The ISO dont all match because we did those very quickly and quite frankly, I am no pro. When I have more time I will do properly. The D4 has become my day to day camera for the past three months. Felt good to shoot with my Canon glass again :D!

I will delay judgment for later once I actually know how to use the 1DX and feel as comfortable with it as with my D4. For now I can say they are both amazing cameras well beyond my own capabilities :p. Two things that are stricking however is how much colors and metering are different between both cameras...

Samples shown next ...

Attachments

• 1DX-ISO100.jpg
    1DX-ISO100.jpg
    281.5 KB · Views: 5,659
  • D4-ISO100.jpg
    D4-ISO100.jpg
    276.9 KB · Views: 5,138
  • 1DX-ISO1250.jpg
    1DX-ISO1250.jpg
    265.6 KB · Views: 5,088
  • D4-ISO1800.jpg
    D4-ISO1800.jpg
    297.9 KB · Views: 5,087

JR

Sep 22, 2011
Canada
marekjoz said:
Thanks for posting and your mom for posing. Is it only me, who seems to see more details at each ISO on 1Dx? Even at ISO 100, but it could be caused by higher contrast (and lower DR :) ). D4 @12800 is completely washed in comaprison to 1Dx. Except this ISO range skin colours seem to look better on Nikon.