buy a 1DX used now or wait to buy a 5D4 later

unfocused

Photos/Photo Book Reviews: www.thecuriouseye.com
Jul 20, 2010
Springfield, IL
www.thecuriouseye.com
jolyonralph said:
It doesn't really make much sense.

"Hello, I'm a musician. Should I buy a used piano now or wait to buy a saxophone later?"

Huh? I'm afraid it is your comment that makes no sense.

A better analogy would be: "Should I buy a used Steinway now or wait to buy a new Boston?"

But, even that is a poor analogy because a used Steinway isn't significantly different from a new Steinway. The 1DX is a great camera, but it still uses older technology. The discussion here is about the wisdom of buying old technology when newer technology is available. Opinions differ, but the question is legitimate and makes perfect sense.

Upvote 0

AlanF

Desperately seeking birds
CR Pro
Aug 16, 2012
unfocused said:
jolyonralph said:

"Hello, I'm a musician. Should I buy a used piano now or wait to buy a saxophone later?"

A better analogy would be: "Should I buy a used Steinway now or wait to buy a new Boston?"

But, even that is a poor analogy because a used Steinway isn't significantly different from a new Steinway. The 1DX is a great camera, but it still uses older technology. The discussion here is about the wisdom of buying old technology when newer technology is available. Opinions differ, but the question is legitimate and makes perfect sense.

My wife prefers the used Steinway I bought her to the new Canon 100-400mm II + 5DSR. It takes all types I am afraid.

Upvote 0

unfocused

Photos/Photo Book Reviews: www.thecuriouseye.com
Jul 20, 2010
Springfield, IL
www.thecuriouseye.com
AlanF said:
unfocused said:
jolyonralph said:

My wife prefers the used Steinway I bought her to the new Canon 100-400mm II + 5DSR. It takes all types I am afraid.

My wife settled for a new Boston, but then again...she also stole my 100-400mm II. So I guess we are about even.

Upvote 0

Valvebounce

CR Pro
Apr 3, 2013
Isle of Wight