How many people are using the 7DII as their main body?

Nov 18, 2014
I finally upgraded my EOS 40D after using it for about 7 years. I am an amateur and can't justify the cost of the 5DIII, although some of the prices of the grey market units were very tempting.

After reading all of the reviews and as many of the personal experiences with the 7DII, I finally bit the bullet and spent my money. It's been a big learning curve over my 40D, but I couldn't be happier.

I know that most people relegate the 7DII to a sports/action or wildlife camera, but I was wondering if anyone else was using it as their primary general purpose body?

I believe a lot of folks will as it's a great performer ... I have both 7D2 and 5DM3, but find myself using the 7D2 much more often. Granted, I shoot a lot of sports and wildlife, but it performs well with other projects as well.

I've actually considered selling the 5DM3 and buying a second 7D2 for that reason -- doubt I will, but it has crossed my mind - altho briefly ...

Upvote 0
I think the 7D2 would make a great primary body. So would the 70D. I own/owned them both. Now I mostly shoot my 5D3 and the 7D2 when I need more reach, better AF/fps for swimming and action the 5D3 is lacking for.

For me, once I used a Full Frame (5D), I knew that FF would be my primary body for good. I shoot more wide than long so FF is more conducive to what I prefer.

But I used a 40D (four of them in fact!) for over 3 years and I LOVED THAT 40D!! I still think about buying another used 40D to go with the 5D Classic I also still own and used with the 40D all the time back then.

Upvote 0
May 4, 2011
Had it come out 2-3 years ago like I initially thought, it WOULD have been my main body. As it is, I wanted better high ISO (for certain applications) and got tired of waiting so moved up to 5D. After that experience it's tough to go back to crop as a main camera for general shooting.