R Backup

I have the R and love it. It is far superior than my 5D4 and even better than my 1DX mark 2. I am a wedding photographer and currently use the R and my 5D4 simultaneously. I thought the 5D4 would have 3/4 of the work and the R would just complement. However, every single time I pick up the 5D4 I feel like it is so slow and clumsy. I want to use the R a majority of the time but the single card slot gets to me. I have tried a few things to get a backup and the both haven't worked as well as I would like.

I have tried to wirelessly tether the R to my iPhone using the Camera Connect app but it quickly drains my iPhone and the R with the constant syncing. Sometimes a button gets pressed on my phone and tethering stops and I have to reconnect the camera and it isn't always convenient. I know some have gotten this solution to work so maybe I'll give it another go.

I also bought a my passport pro and tried to backup up my sd card throughout the day. I would shoot with one for a while and then switch. I think I shoot too much for this because it took a really long time to transfer photos and I didn't even make it thought a whole day before the passport pro died. It is supposed to last for 10 hours. Also, there ended up being one card that would not copy for some reason.

I am now feeling like I would need to bring my MacBook Pro with an SD card reader to get something to work quickly and consistently. I thought about a SD card reader for my iPhone but I don't have enough room for RAW files and I think RAW files take a while to transfer to an iPhone. I shoot RAW+JPEG and I wish only the JPEGs would transfer but I don't want to manually select all of the images.

Does anyone have any ideas that I could try. I really need to make this work and a frustrated there are no dual card slots on the R. It is such a good camera otherwise.

I'm sorry I have no answer for you regarding backup but I'd really love to know why, for you, the R is far superior to the 5d4?

actually