7D2 & 600mm f4 ii for BIF?

luckydude

1dxII, 5DIII, 7DII, lots of glass, tolerant wife
Aug 3, 2013
I know that some people had success with the original 7d & the 600mm f4. I was out playing in Elkhorn Slough a few months back with a 5DIII and the 600mm II and the 5D struggled to focus on birds in flight. I'm not a pro so maybe I'm doing it wrong but I'm wondering if the 7D2 is going to be better for BIF.

I believe that the AF will be better but I've heard that part of the problem is power, it takes a lot of power to focus those big lenses. If you put a grip on there does that provide more power for focussing or is it only providing more shots before you have to switch batteries?

If money wasn't a big issue would you rather have the 1Dx or the 7D2 for BIF?

Jul 21, 2010
I'd prefer the 1D X (and not just because I have one). An f/4 lens isn't fast, add a 1.4 or 2x TC and it's even slower. BIF means you need a fast shutter. Mad dogs and Englishmen may go out in the midday sun, but it's not the best light for photography. Putting all that together, BIF often means high ISO, and I'll take FF over APS-C for that any day.

Some may argue about the 'reach advantage' of a crop sensor, but if you're at 600mm or longer, and need to crop deeply due to subject distance, you'll be running into IQ loss from atmospheric effects in most shooting conditions, so there's no real benefit to a smaller sensor.

Upvote 0
Nov 17, 2011
luckydude said:
If money wasn't a big issue would you rather have the 1Dx or the 7D2 for BIF?

1DX of course. Faster, better AF than 7D II, better ISO for early or late afternoon shots, better grip, more power...

Just like Neuro said, cropping shouldn't be an issue. 600mm + 1.4x TC III, I think you be fine ;)

This photo was taken with 1DX and 400mm f2.8 IS II + 2x TC III. Heavy crop:
_X7U4114-X3.jpg

Upvote 0
Nov 17, 2011
neuroanatomist said: