Lens Help: 16-35mm or 17-40mm for video?

Status
Not open for further replies.
So long story short I'm getting money to buy a 5D3. My kit at the moment comprises of a 600D with battery grip, 24-105L & the plastic fantastic 50mm 1.8.

I'm still new to photography/videography & I mainly do video work which involve filming events like the occasionally gig if I'm lucky but I film monthly fashion shows which take place at different night clubs, where I also film interviews of the designers.

As I would use the 24-105 with the 5D3 when I get it, ideally I would like another lens to use on my 600D and I am leaning towards getting a wide angle (zoom) lens which I could use on both bodies.

So my choices are narrowed down to the 16-35mm L F2.8 or 17-40mm L F4. And I'm just wondering which is the better lens? or if there are any better prime alternatives.

Thank you in advance for your help.

I'm not wild about the 17-40mm, which has a lot of distortion and corner sharpness/backfocus issues, but it's a nice lens ergonomically and the focal length is useful if you have to get super wide.

The 11-16mm Tokina is rather wonderful for APS-C and you can use it (but with soft corners) at 16mm on the 5D. Contrary to popular opinion, the corners are really very soft with it on the 5D unless you stop down to f8--worse than with the 17-40mm L, but it's a great lens on APS-C and useable as an UWA for FF.

I am extremely fond of the 14mm f2.8 II L, but the cost is high and it's so wide it plays like an effect. Super wide, great contrast and sharpness, and minimal distortion, what's not to like (well, the focal length if you don't want it).

There are lots of affordable third party options, too. The 17-40mm can take filters and is weather sealed, so while that doesn't seem important, it can make it an easier choice.

Upvote 0
Apr 29, 2012
Policar said: