Need help finding a backpack

Hi all
I am looking for a backpack with the features below:
1. About 24-30 liters capacity. Vertically deep enough to hold the 135L/pro body.
2. Will be quite ergonomic- a rigid frame will be great.
3. Primary use will be carrying through airports on my back- doesn't need to hold non-photographic stuff, easy access not a necessity (I shall be buying a Lowepro transit for that).
4. Laptop sleeve will be big enough for 15" MBP and will be towards my back.
5. Tripod holder of some sort if I need to carry it.
6. As low a profile as possible.
7. <$ 200 will be great.

The backpacks I have looked at are Thinktank Streetwalker HD and Tenba Shootout 24L, but I have no personal experience with either brand. Any input on those as well as other suggestions will be very helpful.

lintoni

Good grief!
Mar 18, 2012
I have a Tamrac Adventure 10, which doesn't scream "camera gear, try and steal me!". It will take your laptop with ease, it should take your body with lens attached, but I'm not sure you're looking for a 3 compartment bag? Camera stuff at bottom/other junk on top/laptop against your back. I *believe* that it would just pass as carry-on luggage, but haven't tried myself. Tripod carrying isn't its greatest strength - you're meant to buy a couple of straps to attach to the bottom to hold the tripod. I fin it better to use one of the mesh drinks pockets and use the straps to hol the tripod to the side of the rucksack.

I wouldn't have mentioned the Tamrac, but nobody else has replied!

Upvote 0
lintoni said: