Opinion: The USB-C DSLR problem isn’t as bad as you think

Canon Rumors Guy

Canon EOS 40D
CR Pro
Jul 20, 2010
Canada
www.canonrumors.com
I chose to put this as an opinion because I’m not a lawyer, and while my background is in engineering, we are talking about a rather convoluted subject matter. That really can only be answered accurately by lawyers familiar with the legislation. We won’t know for sure until after December 28th, but in my opinion,

See full article...

Reactions: 2 users

mdcmdcmdc

EOS R7, M5, 100 (film), Sony α6400
CR Pro
Sep 4, 2020
Sorry, but a reasoned, fact-based analysis has no place on the internet in 2023.

(Seriously, thanks for this write-up.)

One other factor to consider is that the EU directive was also intended to reduce e-waste during product upgrade cycles. Forcing manufacturers to pull their legacy products off the market, to remove non-compliant components, would have the opposite effect.

Most people heard of this when Apple proudly invented the USB-C interface this past smartphone release cycle ;)

I don't recall Apple making that particular claim, but they do tend to have a very strong "reality distortion field" surrounding their announcements. To be fair, I don't believe USB would have taken off anywhere near as fast as it did without Apple standardizing on it, to the exclusion of all legacy ports, starting with the orignal iMac in 1998. The Wintel PC marketplace had always been more focused on compatibility with legacy software and peripherals, and no single Wintel manufacturer had enough market dominance to unilaterally make such a change. I'm old enough to remember the Wintel PC COM port change from 25 to 9 pins in the early 1990's, and that was painful enough with all of the incompatible pinouts and adapters.

Upvote 0
Aug 21, 2019