Too much to ask for a Fully silent mode?

I'm a set photographer.
I know as far as types of photographers out there I am a little unique. But I would love to have a fully silent mode on the new 1dx or 5d. I realize you guys would probably point me towards mirrorless as an option but why not include a fully silent mode on these two new bodies?

1. I realize there might be an overheating issue if the option for silent was utilized through released shutter (similar to when the camera is in movie mode.)
2. if released shutter was the way it shot silently, couldn't the viewfinder switch over to an electronic viewfinder just as easily as switching the shutter open?

I realize this is a lot to ask but what other reasons haven't we seen a fully silent mode on any of the semi-pro and pro modes of EOS?

Dec 25, 2012
A totally silent shutter is why I acquired a Panasonic GX-7.
The scan speed of 1/15 of a second is not a problem at all as it only affects the rendering of images in motion and in most cases is invisible. 16 MP is more than enough for almost any application and the lens selection is excellent.
Low light performance is also excellent.
I have speculated that Canon may offer a dramatic departure with the 5DmkIV by incorporating a hybrid VF that can work optically with a flipping mirror or as an EVF with the mirror locked up for those times one wishes to use one.
This would offer a true silent shutter and maintain the EOS mount.

I have long wondered why the noise of cameras has received so little attention. Back in the 70's the sound of an SLR was always an important part of review as they were always being compared to the relative silence of rangefinder cameras.
Nikon's cameras have always been a lot quieter than Canon's and have tempted me to switch on that score alone. I can't because I love my 17 TS-E.

Upvote 0

RGF

How you relate to the issue, is the issue.
Jul 13, 2012
gregborkman said:
I'm a set photographer.