Videography vs. Photography Lenses

Status
Not open for further replies.
Greetings all,

I am new to the DSLR world and recently acquired a Canon 60D.

I have a Tamron 17-50 2.8 and a Canon 50 1.8

Low light performance is decent as well as "zoom" capability

I'd like to get a lens, or two, for a modest price that will allow me to capture better low light images and video as well as more zoom capability...

I am not sure if a Tamron or Sigma 17-200mm 2.8 is going to be feasible for video or low light although it will have the zoom and I know that a Rokinon 85mm 1.4 will be much better in low light but may not have the closeness from a distance that the 70-200 would give...are these both lenses that would solve me video issues?

Thoughts?

Main shooting types:

1. Narrative/Documentary
2. Sports
3. B-Roll (city shots, scenes, etc.)

There's a 30-300 T2.9 zoom coming out, for a mere 45,000 bucks, if I remember right... :)

Sounds like you need a few lenses...

The 17-50 should work for your wide...

The 70-200 2.8 and 120-300 2.8 are both considerations, but you will need a pretty good tripod...

There is no super zoom which will meet all your needs generally available... Except on broadcast cameras!!!

Upvote 0
jasonmillard81 said:
Greetings all,
Hello there,

Don't want to dash your dreams but most lenses (especially affordable lenses) work poorly for traditional moviemaking. However, if you can get away with fixed views and fixed focus, any of the lenses will be good.

HERE is a good overview of some of the issues you might run into using lenses for video. I added a comment that might be worth reading as well.

Of course, the bottom line is that there isn't any problem that a little bit of ingenuity can't fix.

And in truth, the new TS-E lenses (17mm and 24mm) should work fine for most video and don't seem to add many problems.