Canon to announce EOS-1D X equivalent EOS R system camera in 2021?

D

Deleted member 378875

Thanks
I am also a hobbyist with very limited funds. Dustin Abbott is the greatest, in my opinion. However, I worked today with a guy that went from Canon to Sony. He adapted his EF glass. Now he's switching back to the R. My point was that no camera will make our photos better. You should go down to the local shop and see whether you like the feel of the Sony in your hands and see if you can live with that, their abysmal service, and horrible menus.

The 5D Mark IV is a nice camera. I don't see that you'd be in a rush either way. I disagree that Sony is ahead of Canon. Especially when it comes to glass, ergonomics, and service. I get very nice photos from the R, but not because it is the R. ;)
Thanks for the advice - I have to admit I am tempted to buy one but a big part of me tells me to be patient and hold on to my money and hope that Canon bring out a reasonably priced model with IBIS and an EVF comparable to the new Sony A7R4 and Panasonic

Upvote 0

AlanF

Desperately seeking birds
CR Pro
Aug 16, 2012
Im not sure, but the initial lock with an AF point seemed pretty quick when I was checking it with cars. I suspect the same visual issue of it being harder to see OOF subjects will be there though regarding initial acquisition, Ill have another look on Wed, Im hoping to get back there.

The M6 AF seemed pretty fast too, but no options to change lockon priority etc. 14 FPS with servo was impressive, and it just had little skips with each shot, it was very easy to track with it.
Nikon and Sony AF (on certain bodies) is able to detect movement and pinpoint focus on what is moving, which is just what you want for capturing a flying bird or other fast moving object against a background. If Canon can now do the same it would be a breakthrough I have been hoping for.

Reactions: 1 user
Upvote 0