Canon announces development of the EOS R5 full-frame mirrorless camera

davidhfe

CR Pro
Sep 9, 2015
Since you mentioned the confusion about technology yourself, you sound like you know your thing. But I can't imagine the 8K 30p being anything other than RAW. What leads you to believe the opposite?

When the data comes off the sensor, it is RAW data. To change it to something else, a computationally expensive compression step would have to follow, that adds additional hardware requirements and produces heat. Just dumping the RAW to the memory card is the easier option. That's why Magic Lantern has been able to offer that for years (Yes, the new bodies are not supported).

If Canon had a way to deal with these issues, why is the 5.5K on the 1DX III only available in RAW?

OK the caveat here is that I am not an electrical engineer I just spend too much time on the internet.

My (limited) understanding is that you typically have different read modes on the sensor. You can trade speed for bit depth. So for photos, you can get 14-bit RAW at about 20fps in one read mode, or if you want speed you can drop that down to 10 or 12 bit and get a faster read. Even then, you'll hit another limit and then need to find a way to read fewer pixels: that's when crops, pixel bins and line skip modes kick in.

In human brain terms, multiplying 500x800 is easier than 543x822. You can trade speed for precision.

The 1DX3 has half the pixels to deal with, so a full RAW read is easier to do—there's just less data (and heat!)

All of the above is to just get the signal processed from the photo sites to the processor. Again, I am not an EE so I don't know what parts of the process are handled on chip vs on the DSP, but when you're talking about compression being computationally expensive, that's a different problem. The conflating thing is that canon has been behind in both areas:

- They've had sensor read issues, which have shown up in crop modes and fairly severe rolling shutter