Possible Canon Cinema EOS C300 Mark III update [CR2]

And if Canon doesn't deliver & Mono is fine for you, the Rode videomic NTG is a very fine tool. I wanted to buy some NTG4 or maybe the NTG5 but I was not shure if an XLR solution was the right thing for me (to bulky) and then came the videomic NTG: It has a physical level control (Knob without any (mechanical) steps) , no digital connection to the camera (except the camera has a USB port which accepts such devices) - but it can be used as a USB microphone on a PC too.

I am new in audio but I think I know a little bit about what it has to sound and this is the first microphone where I accept my own voice :) Sound is clean, rich and without any artificial "spoken through a tube" artifacts.

The Rode Videomic NTG looks very interesting. I like the look of Sony's proprietary shotgun for the A7 series because it eliminates the flimsy 3.5mm connection, and it sends a digital signal to the camera, making it the sound much cleaner. This setup makes for a more robust compact setup.
But the Rode looks like the next-best option.
Cheers

Upvote 0
Feb 15, 2011
How exactly is your workflow? What is the MixPre doing? Do you record the audio with the MixPres SD card option? Or do you give the signal out and record it into the camera? If so, dont you lose the 3 channels which are combined into one channel? So in case you have 3 microphones, you only have one line which you can edit?

Usually the MixPre is serving as an audio adapter and sometimes as a recorder. We run Mics (usually one or two) into the MixPre, then run the MixPre's stereo out into the camera - single channel summed for one mic or two separate channels for two mics.