Canon cameras that I’m told are coming in 2021

usern4cr

R5
CR Pro
Sep 2, 2018
Kentucky, USA
What Olympics`? With the Biden win, the world will be forced in permanent lock down as it will be ruled from the geriatric fear for covid 19 level policy..
No the first new olympic games will be in 4 years..
I thought we're supposed to avoid politics in this forum. I suggest you do the same, lest others with opposite views start voicing their opinions and the thread is overrun with non-photographic content.

Reactions: 3 users
Upvote 0
Aug 26, 2015
I haven't used the Ra, so I'm not an expert on it's limitations. I would hope that it could take decent daylight photos after correcting the red channel for daylight use.

Regarding the points you made, I would agree in general, although IBIS might help for quicker lightweight tripod shots in windy conditions that are to be stacked later, or for handheld shots at twilight etc. And realistically, I could see them coming out with a R6a instead of an R5a reasoning that larger pixels are more appropriate for astro work and to get costs down so it sells enough to warrant production.
They've made the 20Da in 2005, the 60Da in 2012 and now the EOS Ra in 2019.

It is safe to say that it is a very niche market and they won't make any more for quite a few years.

But if the R6a is what you desire, any camera can be modified for astrophotograhy. It's not that big of a deal.

Reactions: 1 users
Upvote 0

usern4cr

R5
CR Pro
Sep 2, 2018
Kentucky, USA
They've made the 20Da in 2005, the 60Da in 2012 and now the EOS Ra in 2019.

It is safe to say that it is a very niche market and they won't make any more for quite a few years.

But if the R6a is what you desire, any camera can be modified for astrophotograhy. It's not that big of a deal.