Behind The Shot interviews Jeff Cable, to talk about using the EOS R3 in the real world

I'm a profesional sport photographer (soccer) in Spain, and in the last two Champions League matches I ask to the fat cat about R3, nobody knows, nobody test it, and for the price of a R3 you can buy a R5 and a R6, the R5 for the Canon EF 400mm F2.8 whit the adapter (who buys the same 400 for 12 grands...) and crop, and the R6 whit the Canon RF 70-200 F2.8, that's the end of the history.

Reactions: 1 users
Upvote 0
I quite agree - many people probably don’t need high MP, and simply want the “latest and greatest” piece of kit, in the belief that it will magically improve their photography.

My point was that we all have different needs, and that when choosing kit we should avoid being misled by advertising hype, and instead carefully analyse what we actually *need* and can afford for our own particular subject types and styles of operation.

It’s probably true that most photographers need no more than 15-20MP. But there are many including myself who genuinely need high MP for at least some of our work. I could easily get away with 20MP for 90% of my work, but I need higher resolution for the other 10%.

Another way of looking at it is that it’s better to have too much than too little, both in terms of megapixels and overall specification. We might be getting absolutely satisfactory photographs with a relatively low res machine, but it’s good to have something “in reserve” for those occasions when more is needed.

The only issue I have with high MP cameras, as Jeff Cable also pointed out, is that it would be extremely useful if the user could select different FF resolutions on any particular camera. A camera that could switch between 24, 48 and 96 MP would be rather nice.