Jeff Cable talks about what it’s like to shoot with the Canon EOS R3 as a pro

Jul 12, 2014
Not correct. Canon took the R3 back off him as soon as he finished at the Olympics. He did not have the option to take the R3 with him to Africa.

I've been a wildlife photographer for almost 40 years, the last time I was this excited about a new pre-order was the 1Diii with 10 MP. Great camera once Canon sorted the focussing issues out.
oops Emyr. My bad. Thanks for the correction. Jeff only expressed his appreciation of using a camera/sensor with more resolution, while in Africa, post Olympics. Hope you get a R3 soon!

Upvote 0
Jul 12, 2014
Well, wildlife shooters wanting to run their new $13,000 lenses will want the R3. Otherwise the lenses aren't focusing as fast as they are capable off.
R5 tracking is very good and it allows a healthy crop. The jury is still out whether the R3 provides a significantly higher hit rate in exchange for the loss of resolution.

Upvote 0

john1970

EOS R3
CR Pro
Dec 27, 2015
Northeastern US
R5 tracking is very good and it allows a healthy crop. The jury is still out whether the R3 provides a significantly higher hit rate in exchange for the loss of resolution.
I would suspect better tracking with R3 because the R3 does 60 AF calculations / sec while the R5 does 20 AF calculations / sec. 1632669938524.jpeg

Reactions: 1 user
Upvote 0
D

Deleted member 381342

Tracking isn’t the only part of AF. The R3 makes the 400 and 600 focus faster. The stacked sensor lets you keep track of the subjects. The resolution is still enough for a billboard. I don’t crop my wildlife photos, not everyone photographs birds.

Reactions: 2 users
Upvote 0
D

Deleted member 381342

Stand close to a billboard. lol