College student needs help deciding what camera body to get.

I'm a college student studying photography and I currently shoot with a 5D Mark III and 7D. I'm debating when I get my second set of student loans if I should get a 6D with a 17mm t/s lens and a 14mm 2.8L II or a 1DX? I mostly shoot editorial, architectural, action sports, and night time photography.

I know the 6D has better quality photos at night than the 1DX but I also shoot a lot outside in the cold, sub-zero temps of Minnesota for extended periods of time in the winter, and in some pretty rough shooting situations to land great editorials. Last month I shot a riot and got pushed into a cement barricade by police, ended up getting my 70-200 dented and last summer I broke my 50 1.8 when I went close to a mosh pit at a concert when someone fell into me.

Lens wise I currently shoot a 10-24mm 3.5-4.5, 24-70mm 2.8L, 70-200mm 2.8L IS II, and a 600ex R/T but will have a 16-35mm 2.8L II, 50mm 1.4, 100mm 2.8L IS as well by the time the second set of loans come.

I'm wondering what everyone on here thinks would be the better choice for me? The top of the line 1DX that can handle everything I throw at it or should I get the 6D that's way cheaper and has superior low light technology with the 17mm t/s and the 14mm 2.8 ii lens which will improve my architectural photography and give me more options when shooting?

Feel free to check out my photography at: www.flickr.com/photos/chrisjuhnphotography/

Mar 25, 2011
Why would you take out a student loan to buy a 2nd camera. That loan will follow you for years.

Just get the bare minimum necessary to pay for your schooling. Don't fall into the easy money loan trap. My wife had a student loan when she went to school, we were just starting out married life, and the extra payments were a drag. I had a good paying job as a electrical engineer, so I was able to pay the loan off in a couple of years. She was very frugal and took only the bare minimum she needed.

Upvote 0