hello, and another request for suggestions

Status
Not open for further replies.
Gentleman (and presumably, some ladies as well)- a quick hello and thank you for the information and opinions you provide here. As a non-professional photographer, I don’t intend to litter your forum with stupid questions but I’ve been lurking and learning what I can. My only Canon camera is a Rebel XT that I’ve had for 6 years along with 2 lens including an EF 75-300IS.

The time has come to upgrade that camera and I’ve been considering either the 60D or 7D. As an airline pilot who also rents Cessnas recreationally- much of my photography is aerial. I often shoot from a platform that can be moving as fast as 500mph across the ground with closure rates that are double that. Another hobby is running half-marathons and the camera, either in my hands or with friends/family, would be shooting races in inclement weather.

I’d originally thought that the 60D was my next camera but have read many opinions here about the 7D’s AF prowess and it being a serious camera for sports photographers. Although I really should take a course or two, my work has been complimented by professional photographers and I’ve actually sold a couple shots. The potential is there to take my hobby up a level and I’d like to leave room for that when purchasing gear...

Opinions?

Fleetie

Watching for pigs on the wing
Nov 22, 2010
Manchester, UK
www.facebook.com
It sounds as though you feel the need... the need for speed.

On that basis, I'd suggest the 7D.

But it is heavy, and you won't be running any half-marathons with it.

The 7D claims to have weather-sealing, whereas, IIRC, the 60D does not. Also, the 7D has AF Microadjust, to allow you fine-tune the AF on your lenses, and again, the 60D does not.

Martin

Upvote 0
F

Flake