Joe's Tuscan Adventure

This is from my trip in the summer to Tuscany.
Would love to know what you guys think!

P1050144_zpsd701efa4.jpg

Re: Palazzo Vecchio

Thanks guys! Many more to come from me in the future.

Regarding the mono, I just love the contrast of the sky against the walls too much! However, I shall give it a try and post again tomorrow.

Fully agree about the Renaissance colours though.

Maybe if someone could change the three title to something like "Joe's Tuscan Adventure", I can put them all in the same place!

Upvote 0
Re: Palazzo Vecchio

I am a very novice photographer, so take this with a heap of salt and in the spirit that I usually post images on CR- to get help getting better. That I am critiquing your post doesn't necessarily mean I can do better, but since you were brave enough to post I am guessing you really want and can take constructive criticism.

I saw the photo and thought- what is special about this photo that differentiates it from a casual tourist snap shot? I couldn't find it, honestly (and experts, feel free to point out what I can't see- as I said, I am a novice). I feel this is mediocre.

IMO, symmetry or any play with the geometry, an attempt to bring out the details in the sky or to bring out the color in the architecture and make it vibrant- things like that could have set this apart.

Maybe share more from your stock, or work a bit more on this?
By the way, Joe- you can change the thread title yourself.

Upvote 0
I can see where you're coming from. I must admit, this holiday was the first time I had held a camera in years, and the holiday that sparked what is now something I'm very enthusiastic about.

The way I saw this as different from a tourist shot is just that it's not a viewpoint people take, there are millions of the palace itself, both interior and exterior. But no one was looking up.

I'll upload more when I find something other than photobucket to host my images on as it's making them appalling.