tethering and LR4?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Sep 16, 2011
ok, so i have my first professional digital still camera, not that i haven't shot with rented 5Ds for years now but I'm a cinematographer by trade and this camera has seemed to infiltrate our sets, so now i have my own. so, that explains why my questions on the stills side might seem bit simple but here it is;

tethering, whats the best cable to get? or one thats decent and affordable?

Lightroom 4, I've used it tethering to grab pictures before on sets, but thats all we used it for. what can i do with it and is it worth getting. can i set looks with it, or is that only photoshop?
thanks and sorry!

Mar 25, 2011
jlev23 said:
ok, so i have my first professional digital still camera, not that i haven't shot with rented 5Ds for years now but I'm a cinematographer by trade and this camera has seemed to infiltrate our sets, so now i have my own. so, that explains why my questions on the stills side might seem bit simple but here it is;

Lightroom 4, I've used it tethering to grab pictures before on sets, but thats all we used it for. what can i do with it and is it worth getting. can i set looks with it, or is that only photoshop?
thanks and sorry!

For stills, use the USB cable that comes with the camera to control the camera and capture stills to your computer or to both your computer and the camera memory card using EOS utilities.

If you want to use the HDMI out to capture video, you will only get a 720P video, not the full HD resolution, so recording that will not do what you want.

The EOS Utility manual is available at the Canon web site, so you can read the fine print.

Upvote 0
Sep 16, 2011
Mt Spokane Photography said:
jlev23 said:

thanks and sorry!

For stills, use the USB cable that comes with the camera to control the camera and capture stills to your computer or to both your computer and the camera memory card using EOS utilities.