Automatic Hyperfocal Menu Selection Options

canonmike

EOS R6
CR Pro
Jan 5, 2013
I should preface this post by stating that I am not an engineer, so I do not know what it would entail to offer a menu selection option, whereby one could assign automatic hyperfocal distance selection to a button or dial on some future R series body, based on the focal range of the lens and aperture you have set on it. Canon has some brilliant engineers among their work force, so if this can be done and anyone could offer it, they certainly could. Sure, I can use the technique of focusing 1/3 into the frame on a landscape shot, as I often do or carry a hyperfocal distance full frame aperture chart, showing hyperfocal distance and dividing by 2 to check focus area or try focusing on infinity, then check for proper focus on LCD screen, etc. etc. But, it sure would be nice if the camera could just make its best guess for me in advance based on my aperture setting used at the time. Sure would save me a lot of time. Can any of our erudite engineers out there chime in on this?? I know there are more than a few of you out there(I've read some of your CR posts) that are no doubt, quite capable of disassembling an R5/6 blindfolded, while you check out the mother board for the pure heck of it, maybe add a heat sink or two while your at it, then casually put it back together better than you found it, right after you finished modifying Lightroom's latest software upgrades to better complement the program based on your personal needs for same. Then, hopefully, all I would have to do, perhaps, would be a slight tweak to the recommended hyperfocal setting when necessary. If I can perform this by using the proper formula on my calculator, why can't the camera, with its built in sophisticated computer curcuitry, just do it for me?

stevelee

FT-QL
CR Pro
Jul 6, 2017
Davidson, NC
Just focus 1/3 of the way to infinity.