Diffuser for Canon 600ex for event

Hi all, been lurking here for a while cause I like to nerd out on all the sensor/lens talk.

A little background:
Anyway, I am a hobby landscape/surf photographer, though slowly I've been learning/taking small jobs (commercial stuff, installation shots) from people I know, and its been going pretty good. Slowly but surely... So last month I did a one day shoot of an installation of a cleaning accessory in the house (a pretty hands on involved process). The company wanted photos of the whole process for PR and their website. Before that job I purchased a canon 16-35 f4 which I was getting anyways for landscapes, and also the canon 600ex flash. I have 2 old 3rd party flashes w/ PW's I used years ago when photographing skateboarding, but they are fully manual and pretty slow to recycle. Fine for off camera lighting with skateboarding but for paid event, I wouldn't feel comfortable. Those 2 purchases really helped the job go smoothly.. Tight spaces, low light - that new lens and flash worked perfectly. The customer and I were very happy with the results. Luckily the whole house had white ceilings and light palette colored walls, so I bounced the flash off the ceiling for 99% of the shots.

Need advice:
Now the same company wants me to shoot a 2 day event. It will be outside, under a few tents. I don't know much more details. I assume they will be medium-ish sized tents, and I assume they will be white, however they could be black for all I know. I'd like to be prepared for both instances. If they're white, I'm thinking I could bounce the flash off the tent. However, I'd like to purchase a diffuser if the tents are black or for shots taken outside of the tent. I'd appreciate if you'd share your experiences with whatever diffuser you have. I've been looking on BH and see a bunch but just wanting to hear others experiences and maybe recommendations based on the provided info.

Thank you

Jan 29, 2011