580EXII SpeedFlash

Why does one of my 580EX II flash drain the batteries overnight if left in the flash unit and anothe

• Defective flash

Votes: 6 85.7%
  • Improper settings

Votes: 1 14.3%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
Status
Not open for further replies.
I'd guess a defective flash, being an amateur I commonly pull mine out for a few shots once a week and often don't charge the batteries for months. I guess you've probably thought of this but have you tried different batteries or swapping the batteries between flashes to make sure it's not one or more of those?

It might also be worth checking the battery compartment is clean in case some sort of slightly conductive material has managed to work its way in. I've had leakage in batttery compartments before that has caused problems with replacement batteries.

Upvote 0
This isn't normal. I've never had this problem with any electronic device that is working properly. Swapping batteries in the flash and then between flashes should help you determine where the problem lies. It's either a bad battery or a bad device.

Note: It is suggested you remove batteries from any device so the device isn't damaged from battery leakage. The device shouldn't drain the batteries if it is powered off. I only use eneloop batteries in important electronics for a multitude of performance and reliability reasons. However, if you must use alkaline batteries, use Energizer. Energizers work well but the main reason I use them is they stand behind their batteries and if an Energizer leaks, you can contact them and receive compensation for the damaged item. I've done it a couple times over the last 10 years (a wall thermostat and a mag flashlight) and I had a check in hand from them in 2- 3 weeks.

Buy the Energizers at Sam's Club. Buy the eneloops at Costco or batterysupply.com.

Upvote 0
Feb 15, 2011