70-100mm VS. 100-400mm Questions?

Mar 23, 2016
USA
You probably mean 70-200 f2.8. The 70-200 is considered "the" portrait lens by many. 100-400 awesome for birds and other wildlife. Also need something more wide angle (24-70) for walking around, events, landscape. Wide to ultra wide angle (less than 24mm) for landscapes, night photo and other effects like fisheye. A lot to learn and buy.

Upvote 0
Jul 21, 2010
kat.hayes said:
I'm fairly new to photography.

1. I'm wondering, why not just get one long lens like a 100-400mm and use it instead of the 70-100mm if I do not need focal lengths less than 100?

2. How is the 100-400mm VS. a 70-100mm for portrait photography?

Thanks.

Assuming you mean 70-200mm, in the context of portraits, the difference is f/2.8 vs. f/4.5-5.6. The wider aperture gives much better subject isolation.

Upvote 0
In my opinion anyone who is really interested in photography needs at least three lenses.
1. (ultra) wide angle – like the Tamron 10-24mm – for landscapes and some (huge) buildings if you can't get far enough from them.
2. general purpose – like the 24-70mm lenses – for smaller landscapes, buildings and events.
3. medium telephoto – like the 70-200mm lenses – for portraits and (not-that-)wildfile.
And if you are interested in it, you can have a macro lens: about 60mm if you want to shoot mainly flowers OR 100 or 180 mm if you want to shoot small animals.
Superzoom lenses makes no sense as their image quality is not better than the superzoom compact cameras but are much heavier and more expensive.
An f/2.8 lens is much faster than an f/5.6 and can better be used in low light conditions.

Upvote 0

AlanF

Desperately seeking birds
CR Pro
Aug 16, 2012
SkynetTX said:
In my opinion anyone who is really interested in photography needs at least three lenses.
1. (ultra) wide angle – like the Tamron 10-24mm – for landscapes and some (huge) buildings if you can't get far enough from them.