Help newb with selection

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello everyone,

Its my first post... I hope people here smarter than myself can help me out.

I currently own a Rebel XT (EOS350d) and a 1d Mk.II (The lenses I have are the 18-55mm, 50mm f/1.8, 28-135mm) and primarily I take landscapes pictures.

I think I need a new Camera Body.

I am into HDR photography and trying to learn as much as I can. I am not too picky on camera bodies but do have the following needs of what my Camera should do: My next camera should have:

1. 10+mp
2. Able to shoot AEB up to 7 or 9 frames
3. Have good in camera Jpeg conversion
4. 6+ FPS
5. Great Low light (ISO) performance

Would like to have the following but not necessary:

1. Ability to shoot 16:9 stills (Nice to have)
2. Ability to shoot 1080x1920 (nice to have)
3. Full frame sensor

Since I am a hobbyist, the EOS 350d worked fine for me till I began HDR photography. Then I needed more AEB’s without messing with multiple settings / EV compensation settings. So for the price range I had in mind, a nice used 1D Mk.II, fit the bill with a DR of +/-18EV’s it is good from the AEB perspective. However the jpegs it renders are rather low quality. Infact the T1i renders jpegs so much better than the 1D Mk. II . With the Mk.II, I have to use the RAW’s and manually expose each one and then take the 7 exposures to make an HDR… it’s rather laborious, and something I would reserve for the very best snaps. If you think I take 7 frames for every picture, you will see why I need good jpeg rendition from the Camera.

I have about $1200 for a new or used Camera (would prefer canon since I have some lenses but this is not mandatory) but can go upto $2000.

What camera can I get that fulfills the above requirements including the ability to bracket 7 frames in AEB.

I am considering using Magic lantern with my 350d or some kind of promote remote set up, but I am no pro and would like my Camera to do these things.