My 70D is gone and I'm happy about it!

Ozarker

Love, joy, and peace to all of good will.
CR Pro
Jan 28, 2015
The Ozarks
I've been mentoring a teen aged boy for several months. He lacked any direction or guidance at home and his older brother has had several run ins with the law.

I met him walking around the apartment complex back in September. He has a broken down T5 that he'd bought from somebody for a song. The camera didn't focus at all.

I asked him to come on a few back country shoots with me. I always let him use any of my lenses and my 70D. He loved that camera. He's really enthusiastic and has some talent.

He moved from Mesquite to Caliente, Nevada back in December so our working together ended. We did keep in touch and he asked me right before he moved whether or not I would sell the 70D. I told him I would sell him the camera and the stm kit lens for $600 if he got a job, saved his money, and bought it himself.

Today I got an excited call from him telling me he had saved the money for the camera. I drove 3 hours to Caliente and delivered his bought and paid for camera. You should have seen the pride in his face, knowing he'd worked to get the camera himself. I felt like a dad giving his son his first car. It was great.

So, tonight I remove those two things from my signature and do it with a happy heart.

Josh is now working and saving to buy my 400mm f/5.6L. I'll do just fine putting the extender on my 70-200mm. He needs that 400mm more than I do.

I know he will succeed. Good for you Josh!

I've told him to sign up for the lens giveaway. I hope he can win one of them.

That's my warm fuzzy for the day:) The photo is of Josh holding the 70D a couple of months back with my Tamron attached.

I wish I had some older generation lenses to give him to help him on his way more, but I don't.