My justification of buying a 24-70 Mark II or spending silly money

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm really thinking about getting the 24-70 II. I'm mainly a hobby photographer, but I do like having the best.

The way I see it that buying any expensive lens, if the quality is up to par then the lens will last me 10 years. It won't really depreciate like an SLR body would.

Buying older lenses you always have that thought that you might need to replace it with a better model or you've just not got the quality and look for an alternative or a prime.

I'm basically trying to make myself feel better buying the 24-70 II. Is that a justified reason: :)

T

Tijn

Just consider the whole pros and cons rather than listing just the pros, if you want to make a balanced decision.

The lens will be the sharpest zoom you've ever had and it'll be lighter than the version 1. You won't need primes in that range (with the exception of demanding low-light photography) and it will indeed last you a long while.

But for the extreme price you could have bought a lot of different stuff as well. The lens itself also isn't perfect. Zoom range is what it is (no tele) and most prominently and importantly, it lacks IS. They might release an IS version 4 years later.

Will you notice the difference between the mark 1 and 2? Do you need its improvement? (Meaning, do you shoot wide-angle a LOT and do you need better corner performance there?) Will it improve your life as much as other "spendings" of that money would? That last question is a difficult one for me. The version 1 has been very popular for a reason; it's just a very good lens. Paying another $1000+ for a wide angle corner sharpness (and minor contrast) upgrade is a lot, even if you do get something that might be 'the best' for a while to come.

Upvote 0

JR

Sep 22, 2011
Canada