Need help on settings for action photos with 5D Mark II

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello, I'm planning to take some early morning photos of a friend, running on a dirt road as the sun rises, at a distance of about 30 yards from her, with a goal of having the background blurred. The hope is to come up with some shots that can be blown up; the kind you might see in a running shoes store of a runner in training, except this is for her, and not commecial purposes. I'll be using a Canon 5D Mark II, and a Canon 70-200mm f/2.8 that's not image stabilized, on a tripod. I'm generally aware of the 5D Mark II's limitations in taking action photograhy/ sports shots, but that's what I have to work with, and I have no real experience at this type of shot. I'm thinking shutter priority, with shutter speed of 1/1000, ISO at probably 800, and am planning on setting the AF to Al Servo, with her in the center of the frame and using the center focus point. She will be running toward me, and the sun will be at my back and in her face, as it rises.

Can any of you give me any pointers on obvious flaws in this game plan, or obvious things I can do to have a better chance of getting some shots in focus with background blurred? I would really appreciate it. Thanks.

K3nt

"No good photo goes unnoticed!"
Feb 3, 2011
Finland
www.flickr.com
Just my thoughts after shooting a bunch of different sports genres lately and for the type of shot you're going for.
Don't have her running straight at the sun, it'll make her squint most likely. A slight angle better, also creates more interesting shadows.
Action stopping when running requires 1/250th shutter speed, 1/320 or faster preferrably.
For some cool effects have a panning head on your tripod and pan along as she runs with focus on her face. Face will be sharp and legs and moving arms blurred. 1/80th is good for that.