Recommendations for my first prime (5DMK3 with 24-70 II and 70-200 2.8 II)

Status
Not open for further replies.
W

Wass

I have my brand new 5DMK3 on its way, along with the new 24-70 II. I also own a Canon 70-200 2.8 II and plan on getting the Canon 100mm 2.8L macro.

I've never used a prime before, so want to start exploring with that. Any recommendations? I was thinking 50mm, and if so, would probably try the Canon 1.4. But curious if people would suggest a different focal length for my first prime. I've also considered an 85mm or maybe a wide angle. I'd use it for a mix of things, from pictures of my upcoming baby, cat, and probably just walking around outside.

Thanks for any thoughts.

This depends mostly on what you are really interested in. I suggest to take a look at a wide angle prime. As an alternative you can also choose one of the primes suited for portrait photography, if this is more of an interest, such as a 85mm or 135mm L lens. I suggest to test some of those lenses to find out, if they suit your shooting style and interests.

Upvote 0
I would wait to see just how good the 24-70 II is to help inform your decision.

But I have a fair few L lenses and I shoot my kids a lot and I hardly ever use anything other than the 85 or the 35. They are both spectacular lenses.

If I had to choose one lens on full frame over all others it would be the 85 F/1.2L II.

Upvote 0
50mm is good choice, but you might want to experiment with your zooms at 35, 50 and 85 to see which focal length would suit you best. Because you have/will have good zooms at f/2.8, I'm don't think that f/1.8 or f/2 primes would make enough of a difference over the zooms to make it worthwhile. f/1.2 and f/1.4 zooms would give more flexibility with DOF and shutter speed. The f/1.4 24, 35 and 50 primes are fairly compact, the f/1.2 85mm is large and attracts a lot of attention.

Upvote 0
T

Tijn