The Canon EOS R1 will come well before the EOS R5 Mark II [CR3]

Bob Howland

CR Pro
Mar 25, 2012
I'm sure Canon solicited feedback from a variety of photographers prior to finalizing the design of the R1. The best time to listen to customers is before you release a product.
Preferably 2 or 3 years before release. The problem with that then is they are potential customers. Actually, the QC manager was talking about after the sale complaining. There is a spec rumor floating around: 30MP, 120FPS, 6.7K 60FPS. That sounds thoroughly believable.

Upvote 0
Nov 13, 2023
Canon should be motivated to have the R1 be a "halo product" that reflects positively on the entire brand. It should be "something special".
I'm not in the market for this camera, but if I was a professional photographer that is going to buy an R1, then I want a camera that is built like a tank, is completely dependable, with 100% well-tested tech that will not fail and makes my shooting experience easy and quick. I would not pay top dollar to be a tech guinea pig. If you want "something special" go buy a Sony and be a beta tester.

Reactions: 1 users
Upvote 0

danfaz

Coffee Fiend
Jul 14, 2015
www.1fineklick.com
If you want "something special" go buy a Sony and be a beta tester.
Unrelated, but talking about beta testing. Apparently their newer 200-600 uses a "course pitch" filter thread vs. a standard pitch thread, and it's not disclosed in any literature. Imagine stripping the threads on your expensive lens trying to force your filter on!

• Wow
Reactions: 1 user
Upvote 0
Jul 21, 2010
Preferably 2 or 3 years before release. The problem with that then is they are potential customers. Actually, the QC manager was talking about after the sale complaining. There is a spec rumor floating around: 30MP, 120FPS, 6.7K 60FPS. That sounds thoroughly believable.