Upgrading 6D to 5D IV or 1DX II for better autofocus and fps. Suggestions?

mikekx102

1DX Mark II =)
Aug 2, 2015
Western Australia
Hi,

I'm currently upgrading from my Canon 6D, but I'm not sure what to upgrade to. I'm an amateur that takes some portraits, landscapes and action shots. I'm finding that my 6D has enough resolution and the quality is great, except for auto-focus.

I want to be able to take photos of the dog running around the backyard and of my friends on a rope-swing with my 200mm f2L lens @ F2.0. As you can imagine that lens puts a lot of strain on the camera's auto-focus and my 6D isn't the best tool for the job (and the fps is pretty low).

- How much of an improvement over the 6D is the 5D Mark IV in regards to auto-focus, when compared to a 1DX Mark II? Like is a 5D Mark IV a 50% improvement over the 6D, and a 1DX II a 50% improvement over the 5D Mark IV, or: is a 5D Mark IV a 95% improvement over the 6D, and the 1DX II a 5% improvement over the 5D Mark IV?
(Sorry if that's confusing)

- How does the weather sealing compare?

- Any other thoughts? I'm also interested in 4K video with good auto-focus and so I'm a bit resistant to considering the 1DX original, though it probably is a good idea.

Thanks,

Mike.

Mar 25, 2011
Instead of the machine gun approach, use single shot. Learn to anticipate your moving targets, I think you will like the results with your 6D. If you do want to use the machine gun approach, remember, you are asking the camera to acquire focus, take the shot, save it, and focus for the next shot. This is why a 1 series is the best choice. The higher battery voltage drives the lens AF motor slightly faster as well as allowing for the complex timing.

Personally, I've used 1 series for fast moving subjects, but reverted to 1 shot because I did not want to deal with hundreds of photos.