Off Lighting/Color With 7D

Status
Not open for further replies.
L

lady

Not sure if this is the right section for this. I need a critique.

I've taken some photos that I consider to be excellent and others that I just sit there wondering how I could have screwed up so bad. I'm not a professional, just someone who likes taking pictures of things, but I would like to be able to make each picture look crisp, clear, and rich in color. I shoot manual. I just don't know what I'm doing wrong here so I'm coming to you guys. I have a 50mm f/1.4 and the 17-40mm f/4L.

Almost all of my photos have the exif data available on flickr, I'm just posting some examples here.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/kreebby

This one feels incredibly "dull" to me. I did very little post processing (changed the white balance) afterward and just uploaded it to deal with it. I can't figure out why it seems dull.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/kreebby/6883229995/#in/photostream/
6883229995_6ec3bf4399_z.jpg

In this one I want his coat to pop out and be more defined, but he's almost invisible compared to the ducks in the background.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/kreebby/6883198981/#in/photostream/
6883198981_ff585c78d9.jpg

Again, really "dull".
http://www.flickr.com/photos/kreebby/6832025137/#in/photostream/
6832025137_48617140d6.jpg

Another dull one:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/kreebby/6854830319/#in/photostream
6854830319_6aa4c41a2b.jpg

Here are some examples of photos that turned out well for me:
6722039055_a6c5211774_z.jpg

6883194653_e8274855ab_z.jpg

6861641523_6188a975ac_z.jpg

6666421125_44844f38ee.jpg

This one was shot in bright daylight, I changed the aperture and shutter speed to make it look like it was dark:
6666385377_4fe8073b3b_z.jpg

6586801247_a19c86d333_z.jpg

6586664589_cca408c31b.jpg