Some help needed - 1dx mkII or 5dMkIV

Dec 8, 2014
Hello

I am going to buy a new camera and my question is...wich one to buy! It is a really good doubt to have between these 2 amaizng bodys, but i really have it!

So the thing is...i am a wildlife photographer, and i also make nature documentaries in video although the main jobs are in photography. At this moment i have a 5d markIII and a 7d markII. For photography the 5d markIII i love it, but 7dmkII never liked, i didn´t fit with the camera (not going to explain, that´s another subject of discussion). But for video, 5dmkIII not good, never liked the 1080HD look and 7D is better in focusing andd overall image.

So, i am going to have big jobs on hand for 2017, either in photography and video, and it´s imperative to improve my video image quality.

Here are my doubts:

- Everybody nows that 1dxmkII is a beast, and of course it is also my first choice. But......Choosing 1dxmkII (cons):

- i will loose all the batteries i have LPE6 (5 at total) and need to replace for at least one of the expensive 1Dx bateries...and even so i will have less "power" storage
- I will have to replace all my SD cards (4 32GB at total) and need to buy at least 2 Cfast cards. However still can use the CF cards i have.

So in 1dx mkII choice i will have more expensive problems to deal, not only the more expensive body...

The pros in getting that body are in a good number.

Then, the 5dMKIV got out and mixed my thoughts.....

- If i choose 1dX mkII, in photo matters, all my problems are solved! :)
- If i choose 5d4, i will continue with the problems of buffer limitation and limited FPS witch is not really good.

For video is where i need the big help:

- The differences between 5d4 and 1dx2 are no enormous, in fact, seems to me that are pretty the same in overall image quality...but there are some differences:

- crop factor in 4k is not the same, is bigger in 5d4
- 4k60fps wich i reaaally want for nature docs....