A really naive person

Hi all,

I am an amateur/part time photographer living in Bangalore (it is not my day job). Last night a friend of mine who lives in Delhi who is a documentary film maker asked a favour of me; to film a short interview with a guy near by. It was a situation where this was the only time and place it could happen. Despite having had my 5D MKIII for nearly a year now, I had not shot more than 1 minute of footage before, but since I was his only/last hope, I went out to shoot. It went OK... I had no sound recording equipment, so as you might guess that was not great, but I muddled through everything, and much to my surprise he and his company liked what I came up with (sent them the files the same night). This morning they asked me if I would like to do some more shooting for them... I realise that this is a great opportunity, and I might as well give it a shot. However I am woefully naive about this kind of work... photography fine, but videography is not something I have any experience with.

I'm not even sure I am asking this in the right thread, but has anyone got any advice for me??? Some kind of sound recording shenanigans would be useful, any recommendations (a good price:quality ratio, nothing pro, but good value and simple)? Camera setting suggestions would also be useful... any useful on-line tutorials too! :) Sorry I really am in the dark here, and instead of fumbling around, I was hoping you guys in the know might be able to push me in the right direction! :)

Equipment wise I have the following:
5D MK III
100D (18-55mm STM)
24mm f/1.4L II
24-105mm f/4L IS
40mm STM f/2.8
50mm f/1.8
70-200 f/2.8L IS II
2x Tripods

Well, that is all I can think of right now... ANY advice would be appreciated! :)

Thanks,

John

First, congrats on the gig!