Advise please.. lens or body..

Status
Not open for further replies.
A

Airvoid

Hi, i am kinda new to photography.. Ive been shooting my 7d for about 2 yrs now.. Now i have been thinking about buying either a 5d mk iii or two lens 24-70 L and a 35 L.. Right now i have a 70-200 2.8 l ii and 85 1.2 ii and a 50 1.2... And my 7d... I ve been meaning to buy some lower(closer) lens because i dont have anything really in that range, but ive been wanting a full frame after using my friends 5d mk ii... What do guys think is best? Mk iii or 2 lens? Thx

Mar 14, 2012
5DIII. It'll give you better high ISO performance for dim areas, and make all the lenses more useful for "normal" photography.

If you're open to the idea, you could consider a 5DII and the 24L or 35L, which would give you 24 or 35, 50, 85 and 70-200. With primes at 24 or 35, 50 and your 70-200 zoom, might not need the 24-70. You could also get an 1.4x extender further along the road if you don't shoot near 300 that much.

Upvote 0

RC

Jun 11, 2011
Airvoid said:
...either a 5d mk iii or two lens 24-70 L and a 35 L.. Right now i have a 70-200 2.8 l ii and 85 1.2 ii and a 50 1.2... And my 7d... I ve been meaning to buy some lower(closer) lens because i dont have anything really in that range...

When you say "lower (closer)" do you mean wider? If so, how wide do you need? If you chose the 24-70 option with your 7D, 24 is really not wide (38mm FF), just wider.

How about the 5D3 plus the 24-70 then sell your 7D if needed to help fund it. That leaves you with an extremely nice setup that many (including myself) would lust over:

5D3
- 24-70
- 50L
- 85L
- 70-200 2.8

Of course this is assuming that the 5D suits your shooting style/needs better than the 7D.

Upvote 0
Airvoid said: