Canon 135 f2

Status
Not open for further replies.
J

jawsborne

I've been shooting with a Canon 20d and 30d for quite a few years now, almost all my shooting done with the 50mm 1.8 (all I could afford). I can't wait to step up to a full frame body, but in the mean time I'm thinking about a new lens.

I'm thinking about the Canon 135 F2. Mainly for portraits. I think it would be perfect on a full frame but in the mean time would I still enjoy it on my crop?

Any other thoughts on the lens?

Thanks!

dr croubie

Too many photos, too little time.
Jun 1, 2011
I've never used one, but have heard great things about it. Is 135mm the length you want? Could get fairly tight head-portraits on an APS-C body, might be a bit long for anything bigger (or where you can't step back to frame bigger). Once you move to FF it's a perfect portrait lens, depends if you can live with it in the meantime.

Have you thought about the 100 f/2, for a lot less than the 135L? (or the 100 f/2.8 macros, you get more versatility for a stop slower)?

Upvote 0
C

Cornershot

It's a really wonderful lens. One of my favorites but it would be pretty long on a crop camera. It would be like trying to shoot portraits with a 200mm lens. You'd definitely not get much use inside but it can work outside. Maybe consider the 85mm f1.8, which is still on the long side for indoors but more usable. And really cheap for the quality you get. It's not an L but still excellent. The 100 f2 is good, too.

Upvote 0

dr croubie

Too many photos, too little time.
Jun 1, 2011
Yeah, the 85/1.8 is another option, although a lot shorter than the original 135 asked.