Industry News: The Sony Alpha a7c leaks ahead of the official announcement

Traveler

EOS R6
Oct 6, 2019
As a travel photographer, I always try to pack lightweight but having a small camera body is too much of a compromise for me. Even the A7iii feels unconfortable in my hands. What I would appreciate are some small lenses, something like 15-35mm f/7.1, compact not-so-fast fish eye, compact 70-300 (I'm fine with f/7.1)... I use the 24-105 f/4 for 80% shots but I need to carry extra 2-3kg for those 20% of shots.

• Haha
Reactions: 2 users
Upvote 0
Aug 26, 2015
I have used Sony APS-C cameras like that and I think the grip is just too short.
The RP is a slight bit cramped compared to the R, but probably still much more easy to handle than this one.
But it is impressive that they have almost the same weight (around 500g) and yet this one still has the IBIS and a big battery in it. That's why they won't price it cheap.

Will Canon's next cheap R series camera also have these two things? Probably not, as their strategy is different.

Reactions: 1 user
Upvote 0
This looks like a really neat little camera. There is definitely a market for small body cameras and this looks like it would be the smallest full frame ILC on the market, if you can get glass small enough to take advantage of that size. If I were a Sony shooter, I'd probably be pretty interested in this as a secondary body which I could cary with little weight/size penalty. It also looks pretty inconspicuous which may be interesting for those doing street photography, or those shooting in countries where big gear collects more attention.

Upvote 0

Rocksthaman

Eos R , R6 , R5
Jul 9, 2020