Canon is gearing up to finally release a high megapixel camera with 100+ megapixels [CR3]

Michael Clark

Now we see through a glass, darkly...
Apr 5, 2016
Yes that's an obvious exception. I was an industrial/commercial photographer for many years, and of course, everything had to be archived for the clients. My post was aimed at a different audience - hobbyists.

And, of course, there will always be shots (once in a lifetime travel photos, family photos etc) that need to be kept for sentimental reasons, even if they are of poor quality.

But I reiterate the fact that I've found that the quality of my wildlife photography has improved by leaps and bounds due to my practice of regularly reviewing my images, comparing them to older work, and dumping the sub-par stuff. It simply improves the overall standard of my work.

One can do critical analysis comparing more recent work to past work without deleting the past work, too.

Upvote 0
Mar 26, 2014
Good note. :) For the first time in my life, I'm considering leaving Canon. What if in 5 years there will be (portraits, glamour,…) FF format only for amateurs like the APS-C today?

There are real world limitations.

A silicon wafer and the masks used to make the chip have a high price, which has to be divided over units sold. The larger the sensor, the fewer sensors can be made out of it. Then, the larger the sensor, the fewer the cameras sold. This means higher price per unit.

Wafers aren't clean. There might be dozens of defects (in the silicon itself, dust particles, etc) on it. The larger the chip, the higher the chances there would be a defect in its area, so the number of chips that can be made out of a wafer drops exponentially with its size.

Which is why the Hasselblad H6D-400C's sensor costs $26,000.

450mm wafers are on the horizon, which might lower sensor prices. Then again, the market is shrinking. I would be surprised if digital 645 would become viable option in the next 25 years.

Reactions: 1 user
Upvote 0