Buying a Canon Speedlite 430 EX II - Advice Needed

Status
Not open for further replies.
Aug 26, 2012
Hello,

I am completely new to flash photography. I am a hobbyist and that being said one of the main purposes for the speedlite is that I hope to do portraits (single, group, etc), sometimes weddings (night events) and still life. I own a Canon 60D, but sometime down the road I have intentions to replace it with a 5D Mark III. I am contemplating buying the Canon 430 EX II soon. What I dont know is will I be able to wireless-ly trigger my flash and camera to take shots? If so, do I need additional hardware/device to be able to do that? If I later get myself the 5D, will I need a separate trigger again?

My second question is, as far as rechargeable batteries, and charger which brand would you fine folks recommend? Some suggest Eneloop, some Pearstone. I rather buy something that will last me longer than something that I have to replace often or will die out on me.

Third and last question, anything else I should be looking to add to the list over time? I will need a diffuser? Any particular type or brand I should be looking into?

Your advice is appreciated. Thanks :)

pwp

Oct 25, 2010
Just in case you missed the thread on batteries for 600EX-RT:
http://www.canonrumors.com/forum/index.php?topic=9064.0

For full-on extended projects I don't leave home without an external battery pack, a Quantum Turbo T3 with the twin outputs. The extra oomph is indispensable for prolonged bounce flash situations or when calling on speedy recycling with HSS. The 430EX and one can safely assume the 430EXII are terrific value and great performers. But they lack the option of plugging into external power.