More 7DII focus problems

luckydude

1dxII, 5DIII, 7DII, lots of glass, tolerant wife
Aug 3, 2013
Disclaimer, I'm not a pro, once in a while I get some good pics but not like a lot of people here. Bokay?

This was a challenging situation for the 7DII, I eventually moved up to ISO 12800. It was a party, dimly lit, all pics were with the Canon 35mm f2 IS. I started with spot focus, eventually moved to using all points, I never found a sweet spot.

It is capable of taking some decent pictures under those conditions, here are the ones I saved:

http://www.mcvoy.com/lm/2014-yunah+scott/index.html

but if you scroll through some of the rejects you can see that it is struggling to focus:

http://www.mcvoy.com/lm/yunah-bad/

here is a good example from my kitchen, why oh why did it focus on the background?

http://www.mcvoy.com/lm/7DII/32.html

At this point I'm wondering if I return this, I want to like this camera but wow, the keeper rate seems low. Extremely low compared to the 5DII (that I also own) and even to the 7DI (I've got that too).

When there is enough light it can grab:

http://www.mcvoy.com/lm/wren.jpg

is the 7DII, 400mm DO I, 1.4x TC III. I was pretty happy with that pic.

What do you all think? Did I get a bad copy? Am I doing it wrong?

Using all points how do you know you missed focus? For instance the kitchen pic. The background is the center of your frame.

Some are just DOF problems not focus.

Some you are picking up the person next to the one you are targeting.

Some are not sharp but it is because of noise.

If you own the 5D II you took the wrong tool for this job anyway. IMO

Do you have a bad copy? Maybe I couldn't tell by this set, I would have to be using it to see how it compares.