Seeking advice for corporate sporting event gear

Status
Not open for further replies.
At my office the other week we had a meeting about one of these 2-day “corporate Olympics”-type events happening in a few weeks. Organizers mentioned that they were looking for somebody to photograph our employees participating in the various competitions. Despite being a humble amateur, I volunteered to take pictures. I figured it would be a good opportunity to improve my photography on something other than my kids… and the pics won’t likely be any worse than those from years past (blurry cell phone pics, flat & lifeless P&S pics, etc.).

The competition will feature a wide variety of competitions: individual and relay running (short, middle, long), cycling, tug of war, swimming, basketball, volleyball, home run derby, etc.

I was hoping to get some advice from the group on what would be a good kit to prepare for such an event – especially when it comes to lens selection. My goal is to balance what equipment would keep me prepared for most scenarios, while not going overboard. I’d appreciate any tips from those who do this type of thing regularly.

I am definitely planning on bringing the following:

• Lowepro Pro Trekker 300 AW
  • 5D Mark iii w/ battery grip (and four LP-E6s)
  • Joby Ultrafit sling strap
  • Manfrotto 695CX monopod w/ quick release head (and mounting plates for my small whites)
  • Speedlite 430EX II
  • Plenty of SD and CF cards
  • OP/TECH rainsleeves
  • Water, snacks, hat, sunscreen, batteries, etc.

Then there is the lens list that is more open for debate (I’ve listed them in what I feel might be order of importance):

• 70-200mm f/2.8 IS ii
  • 100-400mm
  • 135mm
  • 24-70mm f/2.8 ii
  • TC 1.4x iii