What should be my first dslr?

Status
Not open for further replies.
A

Ang829

Hey everyone!
This is my first posting here and I'm not sure this is the right place to ask...
However, I'm looking to finally purchase what will be my first dslr and I need advice/opinions on what to get. I've been doing some research, reading reviews, etc. and I'm trying to decide between the canon t2i or the canon 7d. I know that they're kind of a gap in the price difference between the two but that doesn't matter to me. The thing is, I want thsi camera to be one that I can learn and practice on but I'm also a poor college student so I would like for this camera to last me a couple years at least before I upgrade. So what I want to know is, which camera should I get? I'm sure that it might be a little easier starting out with the t2i but is that a camera that I will outgrow quickly? And also, is the 7d really that much better? If so I'm willing to spend the extra money but at the same time I'm wondering if the 7d is going to be too complex for me as a beginner?
I would like to be able to photograph a variety of things such as: children, landscape/wildlife and action sports (i.e. motocross and kids sporting games).
Any advice/opinions/tips would be greatly appreciated! Thanks so much!

-Ang

Mt Spokane Photography

Canon Rumors Premium
Mar 25, 2011
You do not mention lenses. Getting good lenses will cost much more than a camera body. I'd go with a Rebel refurb from the Canon store and a couple of good lenses. You will keep and use good lenses for many years, but bodies come and go.

You will be wasting your money to buy a 7D and then get a cheapo lens.

Upvote 0
S

smirkypants