Armando Ferreira: Testing out the NEW Canon EOS R5 in a real world production environment.

dtaylor

Canon 5Ds
Jul 26, 2011
Or if people have guessed right about the third camera being announced this year as an RF video camera, all these anti-R5 videos are actually going to make the RF video camera look even better when the details are released.

At this point it looks like Canon could release an R5c with a fan, double the price, and people would still love it and buy it :LOL:

Reactions: 2 users
Upvote 0
So far, I feel like I am running a gauntlet and am being beaten to death by reviews of R5 video capabilities. For the sake of logic and symmetry won't somebody please review this camera for a photographer, not a videographer.
I have that plan to do so as soon as I get it on my channel “Gaston Shutters” I am a photographer mainly and got this camera for its photo capabilities not video. Although I’m sure I’ll do great with 4K 24fps.

Reactions: 1 user
Upvote 0

navastronia

R6 x2 (work) + 5D Classic (fun)
Aug 31, 2018
I expect that just like the 5D MK II, studios will be using the camera for scenes where space is limited, and indies on a shoestring may also be using R5's, its cheaper to buy than to rent a high end cinema camera.

I expect that indies will not be using R5s, due to overheating problems when shooting in 4K and better/cheaper options when shooting in 1080.

EDIT: And if you don't need a full-frame image (and why should you? The most popular cinema camera in the game, the ARRI Alexa, only has a Super 35-sized sensor), you could just as easily shoot 4K or 6K on a Blackmagic URSA or Pocket, each available in EF-mount for $1K to $2K less than an R5.

My point in bringing all this up is just that there are much more capable cinema cameras than the R5 that don't have overheating problems. If I had an R5, I would use it for BTS/wedding video, but never on a movie production.

Last edited:
Reactions: 2 users
Upvote 0

navastronia

Aug 31, 2018