Love or Hate Canon Rumors Forum

As an old guy in the process of semi-retiring, I decided several years ago to learn photography as a hobby to occupy all my extra spare time. Started by reading photo mags and books and even watched Peter Lik on TV. Then started reading a bunch of online photography websites. Eventually found CR forum. Now I am addicted to CR. I hardly ever look at any other websites or read books anymore. I have learned a lot here about equipment and technique. Also, I get to look at so many talented people's posted photos for ideas and inspiration. The good here greatly outweighs the bad (which I try to just ignore). :)

PS-Gary, I hope you were just joking about leaving...I really love seeing your photos 8)

Upvote 0
I have to agree with you. Myself as a self taught picture taker has learened a lot from here. There was one point that you listed in the negative column that has bugged me for a while:

2) A handful of obsessive individuals who hijack nearly every thread and repeat the same points over and over again, arguing over obscure issues that have nothing to do with the original subject.

Dylyan777, if you read this, I get it, you have an awesome setup but quit hijacking every thread to say that people should have what you have. Your setup is what I want but we are not all prepared to drop $10k+ for family pictures like you (you admitted this on a thread once). Some of us just have fun and this is a hobby, without the need to drop $2k+ on every piece in our stable.

I like it here and have learned a lot. I just avoid all of the new camera threads for a few months, I'll wait until people calm down about not getting at 1DX for the price/body of a 6D.

Upvote 0

K3nt

"No good photo goes unnoticed!"
Feb 3, 2011
Finland
www.flickr.com
I love it here. Found some great contacts. The ones that tend to be 'not-so-nice' I just ignore.